Spreading some coding love on Pinterest.

This blog seems to be less and less about journalism and more and more about computer science!!  That’s not something I would have predicted when I started out twenty-odd posts ago.  But I love that kind of deviation from the planned route.  The whole beauty of blogging and social media and linking is that you are taken in directions you never thought possible and can find yourself delighted and reinvigorated by the most unexpected things.

I’ve been messing around with Pinterest for a couple of weeks (there’s a lot of buzz about it) but couldn’t really find a use for it.  It’s, well, a bit twee at the moment.  It’s really taken off with female crafters in the States, people planning their weddings, pictures of cute animals doing amazing things – you can imagine.  So not really my thing.  But everyone was talking about its huge potential.

If you’ve not come across Pinterest yet (it’s invitation only at the moment!!) it’s a digital pinboard site with lots of sharing (repining.)

Then yesterday I came up with the idea of creating a Pinboard about all the great resources and blogs and people I’ve come across as I learn about coding.  So instead of writing a blog with hyperlinks to all these sites which people skip over and ignore, I’ve got a pinboard with lots of intriguing images which draw people in and encourage people to click and visit.  That’s the idea, anyway.

My coding Pinboard - 100% not twee

Within minutes, these images were being repined and commented on in the Pinterest world.  That’s a lot of sharing bang for your buck!  And maybe as a result one more person will start to learn a little bit about coding….

What I like about it is that it provides a good format for telling a non-linear story.  So my collection of resources for coding learners doesn’t really lend itself to a traditional narrative structure – although you could find a way of doing that, of course.  But a Pinboard enables me to bring all my material together and the “linking narrative” is the passion about the subject which I want to share with a wider audience.

I got in touch with Manchester Girl Geeks about it too (I’d pinned them!) so they’re playing around with Pinterest in the same sort of way.  Between us, we’ll turn twee into geek!

Leave a Reply

