Relaunching my blog

I’ve been blogging here for over a year so I decided it was time for a bit of a clear out.

When I started, I didn’t really know what exactly I was going to be blogging about but I imagined it would have something to do with leaving the BBC and starting to teach journalism rather than do journalism.

But things haven’t quite turned out like that and I find myself writing increasingly about my painful efforts to learn to code or my (slightly less painful) efforts to make other people learn to code.  I find myself becoming a little evangelical about it!  Who’d have thought?

I also decided that I should stop describing my life in terms of what I used to do and why I stopped doing it.  Instead, I focus on what I’ve become and what I’m learning.

Why the coffee cups?  I just like espresso shots.  That never changes.

3 thoughts on “Relaunching my blog

  1. Inspiring. I’m probably going to do something similar over at my blog. I’m also a journalist learning to code. When I first started familyCoding, I thought I might want to teach it to children. But now I’m finding that I just want to keep learning it for my own reasons, to inspire other journalists, and writers, particularly women, to take the plunge and keep swimming. So now my blog is less of a social project, and more of a digital adventure. Maybe that’ll change in six months. But it’s it’s fun to just code a path and see where it leads.

    • Hi Juliet,
      Thanks so much for the comment. I’ve dipped into your blog (love your post on “The Women” by the way!) a few times so it’s lovely to hear from you. Sounds like we’re on roughly the same path although I’m not as diligent as you about taking my daughters with me. They’re maybe a little young (just turned 5, just about to turn 7) or maybe I’m just not patient enough. But I’m making progress on getting an after-school Coding club set up at their school after a very positive meeting with the head teacher this morning. That’s really exciting. Have you come across CodeClub?
      I’m also way, way behind on Codecademy. I was actually quite enjoying OOP but “stuff” got in the way and now I know I’ve forgotten everything and will have to go through it all over again.
      But I guess it’s not about the end result, it’s about the journey and where it takes you and the conversations – like this – that you get to have along the way.
      Keep up the great work!

      • This would be a great week to re-join Codecademy. We’ve just started learning Python, which seems to me so much better suited to writers, children and Brits (name derives from Monty Python) than JavaScript. And believe me, my son is way off on his own path now. Nothing ruins the coolness of code than mother getting better at it.

Leave a Reply

